David Cameron has been re-elected as Prime Minister after the conservative party won 330 seats in yesterday’s general election.

The labour party now have 232 seats and despite their national loss were successful in Leicester.

De Montfort University hosted a polling station in the Confucius Institute for the Castle B ward, which includes lots of student accommodation.

Voters turned out to choose the candidate they would like to represent the Leicester South constituency.

This constituency saw a voter turnout of 62.5% and Labour’s Jon Ashworth won the seat with a majority of 17,865.

Leicester West, which covers the West-End of Leicester where many De Montfort students live, was also won by Labour.

Liz Kendall was elected as MP for the area for a second time, with a majority of 7,203 over Conservative’s Paul Bessant.

The Leicester East constituency re-elected Keith Vaz from Labour with a turnout of 63.7% and a majority of 18,352.

The city also voted for each borough’s councillors and the city mayor.

Labour’s Sir Peter Soulsby was re-elected as City Mayor with 71,533 votes giving him a landslide majority of 47,206 over Conservative candidate and DMU lecturer Paul Bremner.

This election saw the highest voter turnout since 1997 and a 58% turnout for young people aged 18-24.